Next GZ (Tools!) Hangout: Wednesday 24th July, 20:30 GMT

With the Quench project well underway and the start of the next phase of the project around the corner, it’s time for another hangout — this time with a focus on using the new Zoo Tools data analysis suite to work with Quench data!

We’ll start at 15:30 CDT (Chicago), which is 13:30 PDT, 16:30 EDT, 20:30 GMT, 21:30 BST, 22:30 CET, and 23:30 CAT. That’s getting a bit late for Europe and Africa, but if you can’t make the hangout on the day, don’t worry, we’ll post the recording of it as soon as possible.

Have questions? Post them here or tweet at us (@galaxyzoo). Just before the hangout starts, we’ll embed the video here so you can watch from the blog. And feel free to try out tools.zooniverse.org (and check out the Zooniverse blog post about it) beforehand!

The best way to send us a comment during the live hangout is to tweet at us, but you can also leave a comment on this blog post, or on Google PlusFacebook or YouTube, which we’ll also try to keep an eye on. See you soon!

Note: if you’d prefer a text-based tutorial, check out this Zooniverse blog post.

5 responses to “Next GZ (Tools!) Hangout: Wednesday 24th July, 20:30 GMT”

  1. Jean Tate says :

    Would you – the people who are in this Hangout – mind viewing the video, in a day or so? I’m curious to know if you too feel it is very difficult to follow …

    I think the GZ Tools are AWESOME! and the GZ Quench project AWESOMER!! It might, however, be a good idea to think about a different way to introduce Tools and Quench data analysis (than this video).

    • Brooke Simmons says :

      Hi Jean,

      I’ve just annotated the video to hopefully make things a little clearer… sorry we occasionally went a bit quickly. The blog post that Rob & Kyle wrote, http://blog.zooniverse.org/2013/07/22/zoo-tools-a-new-way-to-analyze-view-and-share-data/ , might help too. Other than that please feel free to ask questions on Talk!

      • Jean Tate says :

        Thanks Brooke.

        The annotations were very helpful. One in particular, where you explained what happened when you went off-air! I’ve a number of comments etc, but they’re more pertinent to the tools, so I’ll write some posts in Talk.

        Last question: in several places in the video, there is a column on the left (of your screen?), “Group Chat”; what is this?

      • Brooke Simmons says :

        Hi Jean,

        Thanks — I’m glad that helped a bit!

        The “group chat” is part of the Hangout, and enables people in the hangout to type messages to each other. Normally it doesn’t show up on air, but Laura was sharing her screen so you could see behind the curtain!

        It would be really helpful to let others in on that chat, but I don’t think there’s a way to do that at the moment, unfortunately.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Quench Boost: A How-To Guide, Part 1 | Galaxy Zoo - August 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: