International Year of Astronomy press conference at AAS, featuring Galaxy Zoo, coming very soon!

Happening soon here at the AAS meeting…

In a little over an hour, there will be a Galaxy Zoo press conference announcing to the community a new discovery that you have helped make. Many of you have heard about this one in the process of the research coming together, but it is an exciting result.

As always, Astronomy Cast LIVE will be broadcasting the press conference live from here in Pasadena. Here is the link to the live broadcast, which starts at 10:30 AM U.S. Pacific time:

Galaxy Zoo live press conference

During the conference, you will be able to chat, and someone will be on hand to answer any questions that you ask about the research.

After the press conference ends, we will save a recording of the broadcast and keep it available on the same site.

In case any of you have as much trouble as I do with converting time zones in your head (I have missed many a teleconference due to miscalculations), here is the time that it will appear in a major city hopefully near where you are (ordered east to west):

Sydney: 3:30 AM (0330)
Tokyo: 2:30 AM (0230)
Beijing: 1:30 AM (0130)
New Delhi: 11:00 PM (2300)
Moscow: 9:30 PM (2130)
Cape Town: 7:30 PM (1930)
Rome: 7:30 PM (1930)
London: 6:30 PM (1830)
New York: 1:30 PM (1330)
Chicago: 12:30 PM (1230)
Denver: 11:30 PM (1130)

About The Zooniverse

Online citizen science projects. The Zooniverse is doing real science online,.

9 responses to “International Year of Astronomy press conference at AAS, featuring Galaxy Zoo, coming very soon!”

  1. Alice says :

    Well, I did my best, but you appear to have frozen in the universe of a road drill – I hope the reality is better than that 😀

    (at 6:38 p.m.)

  2. Hanny says :

    Cool, following now! 😀

  3. Kevin says :

    Following it now….

  4. Jordan says :

    Welcome, all! If the quality isn’t good enough, keep trying – the quality on UStream can be highly variable. I’m also liveblogging the press conference right now (well, not *right* now, I’m commenting on this post now, but back to the liveblogging)

  5. Hanny says :

    So erm, I think I’ve missed the bit about GZ… I only *just* saw this (!), can we have a direct link to where we can see it still? – thanks.

  6. Jordan says :

    Hi Hanny, the Galaxy Zoo part hasn’t started yet – Pamela is going next, probably in 5-10 minutes.

  7. Hanny says :

    Thanks for the updates Jordan 😉

  8. zeus2007 says :

    Nice!

  9. Mark says :

    Wish i could have listened. Thanks for the notes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: